Dr Mahathir sworn in as 7th Malaysia Prime Minister

May 10, 2018

KUALA LUMPUR – The 92-year-old Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has officially been sworn in as the 7th Prime Minister (PM) for Malaysia.

He took his oath of office as PM before Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V at the Istana Negara at 9.57pm today.

He was accompanied by his wife Tun Dr Siti Hasmah, PKR president, Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng, Parti Amanah Negara president, Mohamad Sabu, Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia president, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and PKR vice-president, Nurul Izzah Anwar.

Dr Mahathir received the mandate to form the government through Pakatan Harapan (PH) by wresting 123 out of 222 parliamentary seats in the just concluded 14th General Election (GE).

He was previously the fourth Malaysian PM from 1981 to 2003.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *